Gmail’s Confidential Mode triggers security fears

“Confidential Email” appears when you click to open it. Showing a date for when the content will expire and informs the users that the email can’t be forwarded or downloaded.

Gmail Confidential Mode,How To Use Gmail Confidential Mode,Gmail New

Neighbourhood Technology Desk/Avi Arya: Gmail users have been alerted about a new Google Mail feature which could be leveraged by online crooks to carry out a wave of scams. Company, in April, unveiled its brand new design which introduced a clean new user interface and a swathe of new features including the ability to snooze a message, auto-generate smart replies and self-destruct emails in the brand new “Confidential Mode”. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) reportedly issued an alert on the “potential emerging threat for nefarious activity” with the Gmail redesign.

If you’re a Gmail user using the official Google Mail website then the “Confidential Email” appears when you click to open it. It shows a date for when the content will expire and informs the users that the email can’t be forwarded or downloaded. However, it’s different if you’re a Gmail user viewing the message as a third-party client or a non-Gmail user who receives a confidential email.In those cases, instead of the message appearing in their browser, users have to click a button to view the email. And this is where the security fears lie. With the Gmail redesign, scammers could send out fake versions of confidential email alerts and trick a user into entering sensitive details.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s